a little about some of the chemicals i’m making you name

Since we’re learning a bit of basic nomenclature in order to pick up chemistry as a second (or third?) language, I thought I’d share a bit about why the chemicals I’ve been making you name are interesting.

Dioxygen difluoride (O2F2, or FOOF), is what some call a high-energy oxidizer…and what others call Satan’s kimchi.

I mentioned that ammonium nitrate (NH4NO3) is a common ingredient in a lot of bombs…you can read a bit more about it (and explosives) here if you like.  (DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME.)

Finally, here is the ammonium dichromate volcano I mentioned:

(Who wants to give me the chemical formula for that?)

 

If nomenclature is throwing you off, here are a few videos that might be helpful:

Ionic compounds

Acids

One thought on “a little about some of the chemicals i’m making you name

  1. Ammonium dichromate –>

    (NH4)2Cr2O7 —>

    x2 (1+) ammonium ions neutralize x1 (2-) dichromate ions

    Like

Comments are closed.